WHAT IS KOSHER?

What Is Kosher Food?

What Is Kosher Food?

When food is prepared in accordance with Jewish religious laws and conventions, it is called Kosher. Kosher principles are laid out in the Torah, and the rules abide by those set out by Kashrus – the comprehensive Jewish dietary laws. 

What are the primary rules for eating Kosher?

Jewish dietary rules state that a practicing Jew cannot have dairy and meat together. They cannot also be cooked together. A Kosher kitchen has a separate set of utensils and an isolated cooking area. Any kosher kitchen will also strictly ensure that dairy products and meat are not served on the same plate.

According to Kosher certification organization Badatz Igud Rabbonim KIR, the rule was interpreted from the Torah, which states: “You may not cook a young animal in the milk of its mother.” (Ex. 23:19)

It could be interpreted that a practicing Jew cannot have milk immediately after consuming meat. There should be a gap of at least one to three hours.
meal

What animals are considered Kosher?

KF Kashrus, another Kosher certification agency, states that Kosher meat only comes from cows, sheep, and goats, for all intents and purposes. Kosher poultry includes chicken, duck, turkey, goose, and pigeon.

Permissible animals must have cloven hooves, must chew cud, and must be slaughtered according to laws in the Torah which mandates that the animal’s death be as instantaneous as possible.

According to religious practice, prohibited fat, veins and blood should also be removed. Dairy produce is considered Kosher if it is derived from one of the aforementioned animals and it must not contain non-Kosher additives or products, however small, within it.

Fish with fins and scales can be consumed (tuna, herring, salmon, etc.), whereas crustaceans and shellfish (crab, lobster, shrimp, etc.) are strictly prohibited.
meal

Neutral Food / Pareve Food

Neutral or pareve food items are those which are neither considered to be meat nor dairy. These may include vegetables, fruits and grains. Since consumption of insects is strictly prohibited, fruits that are prone to infestation need to be carefully scrutinized.

Chocolate and other sweet snacks must be Kosher-certified and  processed using equipment that abides by the Jewish dietary laws. Chocolate can be either "dairy-certified" or "‘pareve."
dessert

Is Drinking Allowed?

Drinking has not been prohibited per se even though drinks derived from grapes or other fruits may be subjected to strict scrutiny and constraints surrounding their production. Spirits can be produced from grain or sugar.

Here at King Solomon's Table we follow and prepare food only in accordance with the tenets of Kosher principle and Jewish dietary laws.
For the finest Glatt Kosher meals, visit us at 4561 West Flamingo Road.
If you are planning to dine in, you can book your reservation via the OpenTable app.
Share by: